Home Page


Our Board of Trustees


Tim Sunderland - Chair

(Appointed - 1.10.14)


Tim has been involved as a community governor for the past 3 years and has been on the Board of Trustees since conversion in October 2014. He has recently been appointed Chair of the Board. He has a masters in Chemical Engineering (M.ENG) and an MBA in Business Administration. Having worked for EXXONMobil for over 25 years he has experience in Project Management and Business management, using these skills in roles across the UK. Being the Chairman of PLC who manage Esso Aviation operations in the UK , he is able to bring key business principles and management structures to the board.




Josh Crandon (Vice Chair)

(Appointed - 1.5.18)


Josh works for a FTSE 100 financial services company, leading the digital proposition int he UK and International market.  He has expertise in business case production, risk management, working on multi-million pound programmes, finance, people management and HR.  

Josh joined the Board on 1st May 2018, having previously held a position on the Board of the Hinkler Academies Trust.



Karen Godsall

(Appointed - 21.1.15)


Karen joined the Inspire Learning Partnership (formerly the Inspire Learning Federation) as a Director in September 2014. She is delighted to be working with the Board of Directors as she is passionate about improving the life chances of young people in the Waterside area.

As the Principal at New Forest Academy, her vision for transforming education is focussed on high quality teaching/learning and rapid school improvement. Since she took up her post as Principal, she has made a significant impact on improving the quality of education on offer at New Forest Academy. She has thirty years’ teaching experience in secondary schools, and has been a senior leader for 14 years.

Her achievements include being the first teacher in Dorset to be accredited as an Advanced Skills Teacher in English and being the SW Regional Teaching Award winner for Most Creative Use of IT. She has led a federative partnership across three Dorset schools, sharing expertise in: high quality teaching; school improvement and human resources management.  She has a wide variety of experience in the educational sector, having also previously worked in a Leading Edge school and as Regional Affiliation Coordinator for the SW region for the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust.

Throughout her career she has collaborated with other educationalists. She works closely with Ringwood School Teaching Alliance, Academies and Enterprise Trust and The Romsey School. She is very pleased to be working with the Inspire Learning Federation.


Jo Wright (Chair of Academy Council Chairs)

(Appointed - 1.5.18)


Jo is a Senior Teaching Fellow (ITE) at the University of Southampton.

Jo joined the Board on 1st May 2018, having previously held a position on the Board of the Hinkler Academies Trust.



Lyndon Clark

(Appointed - 25.6.18)


Lyndon has been involved with the Inspire Learning partnership from its inception and he brings to the academy trust a background and experience in industry. He has worked for ExxonMobil for almost 36 years and during that time has been employed as a technician, with the last 25 years in procurement, providing guidance to ExxonMobil’s Business Service Centre staff located in Prague.


He is a member of the Chartered Institute of Purchasing & Supply. He has been a governor for many years and played a key role as both Blackfield Primary School and Fawley Infant School developed, supporting Blackfield change from a County maintained school to a Grant Maintained school and later a Foundation School. He also played a very active role when the two schools federated.


Claire Lowe - Executive Principal

(Appointed - 1.10.14)


















                                NAME                               DATE OF APPOINTMENT              DATE OF RESIGNATION
Mr N Miles 21.1.15 16.11.15
Mr M Johnson 1.10.14 30.4.18
Mrs E Cole 4.2.15 30.4.18
Mr C Hooper 17.11.15 31.8.18


Board of Trustees - Membership

Register of Business Declarations